SchoolArts Magazine

January 2017

SchoolArts is a national art education magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for educators in the visual arts since 1901.

Issue link: http://www.schoolartsdigital.com/i/759195

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 50

Inspiring Creativity in Teaching Since 1901. Volume 116, Number 5, January 2017 SchoolArts is a worldwide national magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for the community of educators in the visual arts. Editor-in-Chief, Nancy Walkup, Director Emeritus, North Texas Institute for Educators on the Visual Arts, University of North Texas, Denton, Texas, nwalkup@davisart.com Contributing Editors Nicole Brisco, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, TX, nbrisco@pgisd.net Joe Fusaro, Nyack Public Schools, Nyack, NY , joefusaro@optonline.net David Gran, Shanghai American School, Puxi Campus High School, Shanghai, China, dsgran@yahoo.com Rama Hughes, Yavneh Hebrew Academy, Los Angeles, CA, rama@ramahughes.com Frank Juarez, Sheboygan High School, Sheboygan, WI, fjuarez@sasd.net Stacy Lord, W orcester East Middle School, Worcester, MA, stacylord@hotmail.com Carla Majczan, Delaware Valley Charter High School, Philadelphia, PA, cmajczan.naea@gmail.com Craig Roland, Associate Professor of Art Education, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, rolandc@ufl.edu Cassie Stephens, Johnson Elementary School, Franklin, TN, Cassieart75@gmail.com Pamela Stephens, Dept. of Art Education, Northern Arizona University , Flagstaff, AZ, Pamela.Stephens@nau.edu Marilyn Stewart, Professor of Art Education, Kutztown University, Kutztown, PA, mstewart@ptd.net Staff Publisher, Julian Wade Associate Editor, Bret Laurie Advertising Sales Manager, Jessica McCorkle Art Director/Production Editor, Julia McCandless Creative Director, Douglass Scott Consulting Editor, Robb Sandagata Subscriptions & Circulation Manager, Lorraine Markey Send manuscript submissions to: SchoolArts Magazine, Production Department Attn: Article Submissions, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 Advertising/Business Office Jessica McCorkle, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 (508 ) 754 -7201 ext. 219 Fax (508 ) 791-0779 Email JMcCorkle@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Subscriptions & Back Issues Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Email LMarkey@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Writer's Guidelines www.schoolartsmagazine.com/writersguidelines Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Permission to Reproduce Articles Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, (978) 750-8400, copyright.com SchoolArts (ISSN: 0036-6463) January 2017, Volume 116, Number 5. SchoolArts is published monthly, September through June by Davis Publications, Inc., 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013. Subscription rate: $24.95 annually within U.S., Canada/Mexico $39.95 annually, International available as digital only. Past issue single copies $5.00. Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at W orcester, MA and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send change of address form to SchoolArts, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013 Printed in the U.S.A. school arts D E P A R T M E N T S 3 Editor's Letter NANCY WALKUP 8 The Open Art Room IAN SANDS Seeking Authentic Growth in the Open Art Room 9 ClipCards SHERYL DEPP Rainbow Fish JANICE CORSINO Ceramic Thumb Puppets MATT MAZUR Contour Self-Portraits FRANK JUAREZ Wood Sculpture Drawings 11 Museum Musings LUCY HOLLAND Renaissance Altarpiece Collages 12 Advocacy FRANK JUAREZ Frank's Six Rules of Art Advocac 20 Media @r+s DAVID GRAN The Student Creative 21 Looking and Learning KARL COLE and ROBB SANDAGATA P ichi & Avo 37 Advertiser Index 38 Focus In ASHFAQ ISHAQ An Invitation to Repair the World 40 The SHOP Products, educational opportunities, and more. 43 Snapshots Explore the artistic spirit of Santa Fe. View the digital edition of SchoolArts magazine at SchoolArtsDigital.com. 6 JANUARY 2017 SchoolArts

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SchoolArts Magazine - January 2017