SchoolArts Magazine

December 2016

SchoolArts is a national art education magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for educators in the visual arts since 1901.

Issue link: http://www.schoolartsdigital.com/i/746025

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 54

Inspiring Creativity in Teaching Since 1901. Volume 116, Number 4, December 2016 SchoolArts is a worldwide national magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for the community of educators in the visual arts. Editor-in-Chief, Nancy Walkup, Director Emeritus, North Texas Institute for Educators on the Visual Arts, University of North Texas, Denton, Texas, nwalkup@davisart.com Contributing Editors Nicole Brisco, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, TX, nbrisco@pgisd.net Joe Fusaro, Nyack Public Schools, Nyack, NY , joefusaro@optonline.net David Gran, Shanghai American School, Puxi Campus High School, Shanghai, China, dsgran@yahoo.com Rama Hughes, Yavneh Hebrew Academy, Los Angeles, CA, rama@ramahughes.com Frank Juarez, Sheboygan High School, Sheboygan, WI, fjuarez@sasd.net Stacy Lord, W orcester East Middle School, Worcester, MA, stacylord@hotmail.com Carla Majczan, Delaware Valley Charter High School, Philadelphia, PA, cmajczan.naea@gmail.com Craig Roland, Associate Professor of Art Education, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, rolandc@ufl.edu Cassie Stephens, Johnson Elementary School, Franklin, TN, Cassieart75@gmail.com Pamela Stephens, Dept. of Art Education, Northern Arizona University , Flagstaff, AZ, Pamela.Stephens@nau.edu Marilyn Stewart, Professor of Art Education, Kutztown University, Kutztown, PA, mstewart@ptd.net Staff Publisher, Julian Wade Associate Editor, Bret Laurie Advertising Sales Manager, Jessica McCorkle Art Director/Production Editor, Julia McCandless Creative Director, Douglass Scott Consulting Editor, Robb Sandagata Subscriptions & Circulation Manager, Lorraine Markey Send manuscript submissions to: SchoolArts Magazine, Production Department Attn: Article Submissions, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 Advertising/Business Office Jessica McCorkle, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 (508 ) 754 -7201 ext. 219 Fax (508 ) 791-0779 Email JMcCorkle@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Subscriptions & Back Issues Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Email LMarkey@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Writer's Guidelines www.schoolartsmagazine.com/writersguidelines Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Permission to Reproduce Articles Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, (978) 750-8400, copyright.com SchoolArts (ISSN: 0036-6463) December 2016, Volume 116, Number 4. SchoolArts is published monthly, September through June by Davis Publications, Inc., 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013. Subscription rate: $24.95 annually within U.S., Canada/Mexico $39.95 annually, International available as digital only. Past issue single copies $5.00. Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at W orcester, MA and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send change of address form to SchoolArts, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013 Printed in the U.S.A. school arts D E P A R T M E N T S 3 Editor's Letter NANCY WALKUP 8 The Open Art Room MELISSA PURTEE Examining Originalit 9 ClipCards AILEEN PUGLIESE CASTRO Patterned Tiles JANICE CORSINO Spra Paint Street Art RACHEL WINTEMBERG Silhouettes and Sunsets FRANK JUAREZ Winter Fun 12 Advocacy PAM STEPHENS On Being an Arts Advocate 14 Technology JEANNE BJORK Roto-what? 22 Media @r+s DAVID GRAN SketchUp 23 Looking and Learning KARL COLE and ROBB SANDAGATA Angela Haseltine Pozzi 41 Advertiser Index 42 Focus In BEN SCHUMAKER The Memor roject 46 The SHOP Products, educational opportunities, and more. View the digital edition of SchoolArts magazine at SchoolArtsDigital.com. 6 DECEMBER 2016 SchoolArts

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SchoolArts Magazine - December 2016