SchoolArts Magazine

November 2016

SchoolArts is a national art education magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for educators in the visual arts since 1901.

Issue link: http://www.schoolartsdigital.com/i/735630

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 54

Inspiring Creativity in Teaching Since 1901. Volume 116, Number 3, November 2016 SchoolArts is a worldwide national magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for the community of educators in the visual arts. Editor-in-Chief, Nancy Walkup, Director Emeritus, North Texas Institute for Educators on the Visual Arts, University of North Texas, Denton, Texas, nwalkup@davisart.com Contributing Editors Nicole Brisco, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, TX, nbrisco@pgisd.net Joe Fusaro, Nyack Public Schools, Nyack, NY, joefusaro@optonline.net David Gran, Shanghai American School, Puxi Campus High School, Shanghai, China, dsgran@yahoo.com Rama Hughes, Yavneh Hebrew Academy, Los Angeles, CA, rama@ramahughes.com Frank Juarez, Sheboygan High School, Sheboygan, WI, fjuarez@sasd.net Stacy Lord, Worcester East Middle School, Worcester, MA, stacylord@hotmail.com Carla Majczan, Delaware Valley Charter High School, Philadelphia, PA, cmajczan.naea@gmail.com Craig Roland, Associate Professor of Art Education, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, rolandc@ufl.edu Cassie Stephens, Johnson Elementary School, Franklin, TN, Cassieart75@gmail.com Pamela Stephens, Dept. of Art Education, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, AZ, Pamela.Stephens@nau.edu Marilyn Stewart, Professor of Art Education, Kutztown University, Kutztown, PA, mstewart@ptd.net Staff Publisher, Julian Wade Associate Editor, Bret Laurie Advertising Sales Manager, Jessica McCorkle Art Director/Production Editor, Julia McCandless Creative Director, Douglass Scott Consulting Editor, Robb Sandagata Subscriptions & Circulation Manager, Lorraine Markey Send manuscript submissions to: SchoolArts Magazine, Production Department Attn: Article Submissions, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 Advertising/Business Office Jessica McCorkle, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 (508 ) 754 -7201 ext. 219 FAX (508 ) 791-0779 Subscriptions & Back Issues Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Writer's Guidelines www.schoolartsmagazine.com/writersguidelines Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Permission to Reproduce Articles Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, (978) 750-8400, copyright.com SchoolArts (ISSN: 0036-6463) November 2016, Volume 116, Number 3. SchoolArts is published monthly, September through June by Davis Publications, Inc., 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013. Subscription rate: $24.95 annually within U.S., Canada/Mexico $39.95 annually, International available as digital only. Past issue single copies $5.00. Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at Worcester, MA and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send change of address form to SchoolArts, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013 Printed in the U.S.A. school arts D E P A R T M E N T S 3 Editor's Letter NANCY WALKUP 8 Advocacy JIM DODSON The Best of the Best 9 ClipCards AILEEN PUGLIESE CASTRO Drum, Drum, Drum! JANICE CORSINO Art of Origami RACHEL WINTEMBERG Slotted Sculptures FRANK JUAREZ Pastr Delight 12 The Open Art Room IAN SANDS Caught in the Middle 14 Focus In TED EDINGER The SPORE Project 22 Media @r+s DAVID GRAN The Mainstreaming of Augmented Realit 23 Looking and Learning KARL COLE and ROBB SANDAGATA Angello GarcĂ­a Bassi 41 Advertiser Index 43 The SHOP Products, educational opportunities, and more. 46 Spring Educational Directory 47 Snapshots Best of Show Billboards View the digital edition of SchoolArts magazine at SchoolArtsDigital.com. Correction: In the September 2016 article "Art-O-Matic" (Media @r+s), Renee Sandell's name was misspelled. Visit her website, forthcovision.onair.cc. 6 NOVEMBER 2016 SchoolArts

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SchoolArts Magazine - November 2016