SchoolArts Magazine

October 2016

SchoolArts is a national art education magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for educators in the visual arts since 1901.

Issue link: http://www.schoolartsdigital.com/i/723387

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 66

Inspiring Creativity in Teaching Since 1901. Volume 116, Number 2, October 2016 SchoolArts is a worldwide national magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for the community of educators in the visual arts. Editor-in-Chief, Nancy Walkup, Director Emeritus, North Texas Institute for Educators on the Visual Arts, University of North Texas, Denton, Texas, nwalkup@davisart.com Contributing Editors Nicole Brisco, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, TX, nbrisco@pgisd.net Joe Fusaro, Nyack Public Schools, Nyack, NY , joefusaro@optonline.net David Gran, Shanghai American School, Puxi Campus High School, Shanghai, China, dsgran@yahoo.com Rama Hughes, Yavneh Hebrew Academy, Los Angeles, CA, rama@ramahughes.com Frank Juarez, Sheboygan High School, Sheboygan, WI, fjuarez@sasd.net Stacy Lord, W orcester East Middle School, Worcester, MA, stacylord@hotmail.com Carla Majczan, Delaware Valley Charter High School, Philadelphia, PA, cmajczan.naea@gmail.com Craig Roland, Associate Professor of Art Education, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, rolandc@ufl.edu Cassie Stephens, Johnson Elementary School, Franklin, TN, Cassieart75@gmail.com Pamela Stephens, Dept. of Art Education, Northern Arizona University , Flagstaff, AZ, Pamela.Stephens@nau.edu Marilyn Stewart, Professor of Art Education, Kutztown University, Kutztown, PA, mstewart@ptd.net Staff Publisher, Julian Wade Managing Editor, Hana Lasell Advertising Sales, Jessica McCorkle Art Director, Julia McCandless Designer, Hana Lasell Creative Director, Douglass Scott Consulting Editor, Claire Mowbray Golding Subscriptions & Circulation Manager, Lorraine Markey Editorial Assistant, Bret Laurie Send manuscript submissions to: SchoolArts Magazine, Production Department Attn: Article Submissions, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 Advertising/Business Office Jessica McCorkle, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 (508 ) 754 -7201 ext. 219 FAX (508 ) 791-0779 Subscriptions & Back Issues Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Writer's Guidelines www.schoolartsmagazine.com/writersguidelines Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Permission to Reproduce Articles Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, (978) 750-8400, copyright.com SchoolArts (ISSN: 0036-6463) September 2016, Volume 116, Number 1. SchoolArts is published monthly, September through June by Davis Publications, Inc., 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013. Subscription rate: $24.95 annually within U.S., Canada/Mexico $39.95 annually, International available as digital only. Past issue single copies $5.00. Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at W orcester, MA and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send change of address form to SchoolArts, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013 Printed in the U.S.A. school arts D E P A R T M E N T S 3 Editor's Letter NANCY WALKUP 8 Advocacy DONALYN HEISE & MELODY WEINTRAUB Art After Hours 9 ClipCards AILEEN PUGLIESE CASTRO What Color Is Pumpkin? DANIELLE ALFAFARA Knock 'Em Down JANICE CORSINO Collaborative Mural FRANK JUAREZ One Liner 12 The Open Artroom MELISSA PURTEE Planning a Museum Scavenger Hunt 14 STEAM ERIC GIBBONS STEAM: Not All Smoke and Mirrors 16 Managing the Artroom LESLIE BOOTH Finders, Keepers 17 I Can't Live Without Art Contests 18 Focus In BETH BURKHAUSER The Hexagon Project 28 Media @r+s DAVID GRAN Surreal Craft 29 Looking and Learning KARL COLE AND ROBB SANDAGATA Ko ichiro Kurita 47 The SHOP Products, educational opportunities, and more. 53 Advertiser Index 59 Snapshots Oaxacan Weaver Nelson Mendoza View the digital edition of SchoolArts magazine at SchoolArtsDigital.com. 6 OCTOBER 2016 SchoolArts

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SchoolArts Magazine - October 2016