SchoolArts Magazine

SEP 2019

SchoolArts is a national art education magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for educators in the visual arts since 1901.

Issue link: http://www.schoolartsdigital.com/i/1147672

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 62

6 SEPTEMBER 2019 SchoolArts Inspiring Creativity in Teaching Since 1901. Volume 119, Number 1, September 2019 SchoolArts is a national magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for the community of educators in the visual arts. Editor-in-Chief, Nancy Walkup, Director Emeritus, North Texas Institute for Educators on the Visual Arts, University of North Texas, Denton, Texas, nwalkup@davisart.com Contributing Editors Nicole Brisco, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, TX, nbrisco@pgisd.net Leigh Drake, Old Donation School, Virginia Beach, VA, leigh.drake@vbschools.com Joe Fusaro, Nyack Public Schools, Nyack, NY, joefusaro@optonline.net David Gran, Shanghai American School, Puxi Campus High School, Shanghai, China, dsgran@yahoo.com Rama Hughes, Yavneh Hebrew Academy, Los Angeles, CA, rama@ramahughes.com Frank Juarez, Sheboygan High School, Sheboygan, WI, fjuarez@sasd.net Kasmira Mohanty, Huntington High School, Huntington, NY, kasmiramohanty@gmail.com James Rees, Provo High School, Provo, UT, james@jamesreesart.com Craig Roland, Professor Emeritus of Art Education, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, rolandc@ufl.edu Cassie Stephens, Johnson Elementary School, Franklin, TN, cassieart75@gmail.com Pamela Stephens, Dept. of Art Education, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, AZ, pgstephens@suddenlink.net Marilyn Stewart, Professor Emerita of Art Education, Kutztown University, Kutztown, PA, mstewart@ptd.net Rachel Wintemberg, Samuel E. Shull School, Perth Amboy, NJ, rachelhw1966@gmail.com Staff Publisher, Julian Wade Advertising Sales Manager, Jessica McCorkle Associate Editor, Bret Laurie Consulting Editor, Robb Sandagata Art Director, Julia Wade Designer/Production Associate, Aubrey Lovejoy Creative Director, Douglass Scott Subscriptions & Circulation Manager, Lorraine Markey Send manuscript submissions to: SchoolArts Magazine, Production Department SchoolArts.com/Submissions or sasubmissions@davisart.com Advertising/Business Office Jessica McCorkle, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 (508 ) 754 -7201 ext. 219 Email JMcCorkle@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Subscriptions & Back Issues Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Email LMarkey@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Writer's Guidelines www.schoolartsmagazine.com/writersguidelines Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Permission to Reproduce Articles Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, (978) 750-8400, copyright.com SchoolArts (ISSN: 0036-6463) September 2019, Volume 119, Number 1. SchoolArts is published monthly, September through June by Davis Publications ® , Inc., 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013. Subscription rate: $24.95 annually within US, Canada/Mexico $39.95 annually, International available as digital only. Past issue single copies $5.00. Copyright 2019. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at Worcester, MA and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send change of address form to SchoolArts, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013 Printed in the USA school arts D E P A R T M E N T S 3 Editor's Letter NANCY WALKUP 8 Arts & Activities: A Farewell Tribute MARYELLEN BRIDGE 9 ClipCards WENDY LIBBY Painted Pig LEIGH DRAKE Magazine Bowls KRISTINA LATRAVERSE For the Record FRANK JUAREZ Global Expressions 11 Advocacy MELODY WEINTRAUB Wh rt Reall atters to Me 12 Managing the Artroom PAM STEPHENS and ELISA WIEDEMAN Modeling an Engaging Art Lesson 14 Point of View JILL DUPUIS M etaphor for Art Education 16 The Open Art Room IAN SANDS Learning Targets 26 Focus In MARIA NORBERG The Non-Violence Project 27 Looking & Learning KARL COLE and ROBB SANDAGATA Emil Sandagata: Contemporar Mixed Media Artist 46 Resource Center CHRISTOPHER SWEENEY 49 Advertiser Index 51 THE SHOP Products, educational opportunities, and more 55 Snapshots Dogwood Festival Chalk Walk View the digital edition of SchoolArts magazine at SchoolArtsDigital.com.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SchoolArts Magazine - SEP 2019