SchoolArts Magazine

Summer 2019

SchoolArts is a national art education magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for educators in the visual arts since 1901.

Issue link: http://www.schoolartsdigital.com/i/1113430

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 54

6 SUMMER 2019 SchoolArts Inspiring Creativity in Teaching Since 1901. Volume 118, Number 10, Summer 2019 SchoolArts is a worldwide national magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for the community of educators in the visual arts. Editor-in-Chief, Nancy Walkup, Director Emeritus, North Texas Institute for Educators on the Visual Arts, University of North Texas, Denton, Texas, nwalkup@davisart.com Contributing Editors Nicole Brisco, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, TX, nbrisco@pgisd.net Joe Fusaro, Nyack Public Schools, Nyack, NY, joefusaro@optonline.net David Gran, Shanghai American School, Puxi Campus High School, Shanghai, China, dsgran@yahoo.com Rama Hughes, Yavneh Hebrew Academy, Los Angeles, CA, rama@ramahughes.com Frank Juarez, Sheboygan High School, Sheboygan, WI, fjuarez@sasd.net Stacy Lord, Worcester East Middle School, Worcester, MA, stacylord@hotmail.com James Rees, Provo High School, Provo, UT, james@jamesreesart.com Craig Roland, Associate Professor of Art Education, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, rolandc@ufl.edu Cassie Stephens, Johnson Elementary School, Franklin, TN, Cassieart75@gmail.com Pamela Stephens, Dept. of Art Education, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, AZ, Pamela.Stephens@nau.edu Marilyn Stewart, Professor of Art Education, Kutztown University, Kutztown, PA, mstewart@ptd.net Rachel Wintemberg, Samuel E. Shull School, Perth Amboy, NJ, rachelhw1966@gmail.com Staff Publisher, Julian Wade Advertising Sales Manager, Jessica McCorkle Associate Editor, Bret Laurie Consulting Editor, Robb Sandagata Art Director, Julia Wade Designer/Production Associate, Aubrey Lovejoy Creative Director, Douglass Scott Subscriptions & Circulation Manager, Lorraine Markey Send manuscript submissions to: SchoolArts Magazine, Production Department SchoolArts.com/Submissions or sasubmissions@davisart.com Advertising/Business Office Jessica McCorkle, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 (508 ) 754 -7201 ext. 219 Email JMcCorkle@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Subscriptions & Back Issues Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Email LMarkey@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Writer's Guidelines www.schoolartsmagazine.com/writersguidelines Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Permission to Reproduce Articles Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, (978) 750-8400, copyright.com SchoolArts (ISSN: 0036-6463) Summer 2019, Volume 118, Number 10. SchoolArts is published monthly, September through June by Davis Publications ® , Inc., 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013. Subscription rate: $24.95 annually within US, Canada/Mexico $39.95 annually, International available as digital only. Past issue single copies $5.00. Copyright 2019. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at Worcester, MA and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send change of address form to SchoolArts, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013 Printed in the USA school arts D E P A R T M E N T S 3 Editor's Letter NANCY WALKUP 8 Advocacy ILONA SZEKELY Leaving Their Marks 9 ClipCards SUE LIEDKE The Blur MELANIE ROBINSON Bird Masks KRISTINA LATRAVERSE Patterned Mandalas FRANK JUAREZ All of Me 11 Point of View THOM KNAB Owning Your Own Professional Development 12 Managing the Artroom BONNIE GREENE Life on the Road, Art on a Cart 14 The Open Art Room IAN SANDS Realigning the Standards 15 Art Hacks Making artrooms eco-friendlier 22 Focus In SARAH HAUFRECT The ArtEffect Project 23 Looking & Learning KARL COLE and ROBB SANDAGATA Charles Clough: Contemporar Painter 41 Advertiser Index 42 THE SHOP Products, educational opportunities, and more 43 2018–2019 Index of Articles and Authors 47 Snapshots The 22nd Annual K–12 Ceramics Exhibition View the digital edition of SchoolArts magazine at SchoolArtsDigital.com.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SchoolArts Magazine - Summer 2019