SchoolArts Magazine

MAR 2019

SchoolArts is a national art education magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for educators in the visual arts since 1901.

Issue link: http://www.schoolartsdigital.com/i/1078392

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 70

Inspiring Creativity in Teaching Since 1901. Volume 118, Number 7, March 2019 SchoolArts is a worldwide national magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for the community of educators in the visual arts. Editor-in-Chief, Nancy Walkup, Director Emeritus, North Texas Institute for Educators on the Visual Arts, University of North Texas, Denton, Texas, nwalkup@davisart.com Contributing Editors Nicole Brisco, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, TX, nbrisco@pgisd.net Joe Fusaro, Nyack Public Schools, Nyack, NY, joefusaro@optonline.net David Gran, Shanghai American School, Puxi Campus High School, Shanghai, China, dsgran@yahoo.com Rama Hughes, Y avneh Hebrew Academy, Los Angeles, CA, rama@ramahughes.com Frank Juarez, Sheboygan High School, Sheboygan, WI, fjuarez@sasd.net Stacy Lord, W orcester East Middle School, Worcester, MA, stacylord@hotmail.com James Rees, Provo High School, Provo, UT, james@jamesreesart.com Craig Roland, Associate Professor of Art Education, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, rolandc@ufl.edu Cassie Stephens, Johnson Elementary School, Franklin, TN, Cassieart75@gmail.com Pamela Stephens, Dept. of Art Education, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, AZ, Pamela.Stephens@nau.edu Marilyn Stewart, Professor of Art Education, Kutztown University, Kutztown, PA, mstewart@ptd.net Rachel Wintemberg, Samuel E. Shull School, Perth Amboy, NJ, rachelhw1966@gmail.com Staff Publisher, Julian Wade Advertising Sales Manager, Jessica McCorkle Associate Editor, Bret Laurie Consulting Editor, Robb Sandagata Art Director, Julia Wade Designer/Production Associate, Aubrey Lovejoy Creative Director, Douglass Scott Subscriptions & Circulation Manager, Lorraine Markey Send manuscript submissions to: SchoolArts Magazine, Production Department SchoolArts.com/Submissions or sasubmissions@davisart.com Advertising/Business Office Jessica McCorkle, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 (508 ) 754 -7201 ext. 219 Email JMcCorkle@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Subscriptions & Back Issues Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Email LMarkey@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Writer's Guidelines www.schoolartsmagazine.com/writersguidelines Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Permission to Reproduce Articles Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, (978) 750-8400, copyright.com SchoolArts (ISSN: 0036-6463) March 2019, Volume 118, Number 7. SchoolArts is published monthly, September through June by Davis Publications, Inc., 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013. Subscription rate: $24.95 annually within US, Canada/Mexico $39.95 annually, International available as digital only. Past issue single copies $5.00. Copyright 2019. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at W orcester, MA and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send change of address form to SchoolArts, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013 Printed in the USA school arts D E P A R T M E N T S 3 Editor's Letter NANCY WALKUP 9 ClipCards MATT MAZUR Rockets in Space SARA SCHMICKLE KIRKER M avorite Thing ANNEMARIE BALDAUF Cla asks FRANK JUAREZ Denim Drawing 13 The Open Art Room MELISSA PURTEE The Rule of Three 16 Managing the Artroom CHRISTOPHER SWEENEY The Open Press Project 19 Advocacy MARTIN RAYALA The Fifth Arts Discipline 30 Focus In Youth Art Month 31 Looking & Learning KARL COLE and ROBB SANDAGATA Eric Wong: Visual Artist and Architect 57 Advertiser Index 58 THE SHOP Products, educational opportunities, and more 64 Snapshots More student art from Beyond the Average Selfie View the digital edition of SchoolArts magazine at SchoolArtsDigital.com. 6 MARCH 2019 SchoolArts

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SchoolArts Magazine - MAR 2019