SchoolArts Magazine

October 2018

SchoolArts is a national art education magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for educators in the visual arts since 1901.

Issue link: http://www.schoolartsdigital.com/i/1022366

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 10 of 66

Inspiring Creativity in Teaching Since 1901. Volume 118, Number 2, October 2018 SchoolArts is a worldwide national magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for the community of educators in the visual arts. Editor-in-Chief, Nancy Walkup, Director Emeritus, North Texas Institute for Educators on the Visual Arts, University of North Texas, Denton, Texas, nwalkup@davisart.com Contributing Editors Nicole Brisco, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, TX, nbrisco@pgisd.net Joe Fusaro, Nyack Public Schools, Nyack, NY, joefusaro@optonline.net David Gran, Shanghai American School, Puxi Campus High School, Shanghai, China, dsgran@yahoo.com Rama Hughes, Y avneh Hebrew Academy, Los Angeles, CA, rama@ramahughes.com Frank Juarez, Sheboygan High School, Sheboygan, WI, fjuarez@sasd.net Stacy Lord, Worcester East Middle School, Worcester, MA, stacylord@hotmail.com James Rees, Provo High School, Provo, UT, james@jamesreesart.com Craig Roland, Associate Professor of Art Education, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, rolandc@ufl.edu Cassie Stephens, Johnson Elementary School, Franklin, TN, Cassieart75@gmail.com Pamela Stephens, Dept. of Art Education, Northern Arizona University , Flagstaff, AZ, Pamela.Stephens@nau.edu Marilyn Stewart, Professor of Art Education, Kutztown University, Kutztown, PA, mstewart@ptd.net Rachel Wintemberg, Samuel E. Shull School, Perth Amboy, NJ, rachelhw1966@gmail.com Staff Publisher, Julian Wade Advertising Sales Manager, Jessica McCorkle Associate Editor, Bret Laurie Consulting Editor, Robb Sandagata Art Director, Julia Wade Designer/Production Associate, Aubrey Lovejoy Creative Director, Douglass Scott Subscriptions & Circulation Manager, Lorraine Markey Send manuscript submissions to: SchoolArts Magazine, Production Department SchoolArts.com/Submissions or sasubmissions@davisart.com Advertising/Business Office Jessica McCorkle, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608 (508 ) 754 -7201 ext. 219 Email JMcCorkle@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Subscriptions & Back Issues Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Email LMarkey@SchoolArtsMagazine.com Writer's Guidelines www.schoolartsmagazine.com/writersguidelines Lorraine Markey (800) 533-2847 / (508) 754-7201 ext. 220 Permission to Reproduce Articles Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, (978) 750-8400, copyright.com SchoolArts (ISSN: 0036-6463) October 2018, Volume 118, Number 2. SchoolArts is published monthly, September through June by Davis Publications, Inc., 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013. Subscription rate: $24.95 annually within US, Canada/Mexico $39.95 annually, International available as digital only. Past issue single copies $5.00. Copyright 2018. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at W orcester, MA and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send change of address form to SchoolArts, 50 Portland Street, Worcester, MA 01608-2013 Printed in the USA school arts D E P A R T M E N T S 3 Editor's Letter NANCY WALKUP 9 ClipCards AILEEN PUGLIESE CASTRO Splatters and Scribbles WENDY LIBBY Wood Sculptures MELODY WEINTRAUB Pop Art Design Warhol-St le FRANK JUAREZ Stronger Together 12 Advocacy JANIS DOUKAKIS Let's Pl 14 Art Hacks Tips and tricks for storing art supplies 15 Managing the Artroom RAMA HUGHES Discipline Doesn't Have to Be Scar (part 1) 16 Assessment BETSY D i JULIO and LYNN BECK The Quest for Useful Art Assessment Tools 28 Focus In BETH BURKHAUSER The Interdependence Hexagon Project 29 Looking & Learning KARL COLE and ROBB SANDAGATA Oscar Oiwa: Visual Artist and Painter 48 The Open Art Room IAN SANDS Artists Solve Problems 53 Advertiser Index 54 T HE SHOP Products, educational opportunities, and more 60 Snapshots Art Acts: Get Featured! View the digital edition of SchoolArts magazine at SchoolArtsDigital.com. 6 OCTOBER 2018 SchoolArts

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of SchoolArts Magazine - October 2018